Music Library Circulation Policies

As a part of the university library system, the Thurlow Lieurance Memorial Music Library follows the rules and regulations of the Ablah Library, including fine and fine collection policies.  For a more comprehensive listing of library circulation policies, see the Library Circulation Guide.

Borrowers:

All Wichita State University Students, faculty or staff are eligible for library privileges.  Community Users  are eligible for limited library privileges.  Community Users are defined as Kansas residents in the 9th grade or above, or a faculty member or student attending a college or university in Kansas, or a member of the WSU Alumni Association or a member of the Library Associates.

Identification:

A valid WSU Student, Faculty or Staff photo ID is required to check out material.  Community Users must have a current Community User library card. 

Check out Information:

Renewals:  Must be made in person or by phone.  To renew by phone call the Music Library at 978-3029 or the Ablah Library Circulation Desk at 978-3582.

Searches:  If you are unable to locate an item on the shelves, please request a "search" at  the Music Circulation Desk.  Notification of the search results will be provided on completion of the search.

Due Dates:  When you check out library materials be sure to note the due date stamped on the date due slip attached to each item.  Fines are charged for overdue materials.

Holds:  If you have a need for an item which is checked out, please request a "hold" be put on the item at the Music Circulation Desk.  When the item in question has been returned notification will be provided and it will be held at the Circulation Desk for pick up.

Use of Compact Discs in the Library:  Any patron wishing to listen to a compact disc in the library must check the disc out at the Music Circulation Desk with their Shocker or Community User card until the disk is returned.

Overnight Reserve Materials:  Overnight reserve materials may be check out after 4:00 p.m. and must be returned by 10:00 a.m. the following day.  Items checked out after 4:00 p.m. Friday must be returned by the following Monday at 10:00 a.m..

Copyright Policy:  To ensure the library's compliance with copyright laws, no recording from any audio materials (records, tapes, compact discs) is allowed in the library.  To enforce this policy, the library asks that personal recording devices not be brought into the library.  Any personal recording devices brought in to the library must be held at the Circulation Desk where they will be kept until the owner of the device exits the library.

Reference Service:  The Music Librarian has office hours on Tuesday mornings from 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. and Thursday afternoons from 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m..  The Librarian, Rachel Crane, is also available by appointment at 978-3029 (music library) or 978-5078 (Ablah Library). 

Fines:  All fines are paid at the Circulation Desk in the Ablah Library.  See the Ablah Library Circulation Guide for further information on fines and charges.

Lost Charges:  Lost charges are billed when an item becomes 40 days overdue.  The charges for each item include the cost of replacement, binding if necessary, and $7.00 for processing.  The minimum lost charge is $17.00.  After payment, if the item is returned within a year of the due date, the difference between the lost charge and the maximum fine will be refunded.  Scores consisting of a set of performance parts that have been returned missing a part will be billed as if the entire item were lost.  Photocopied replacement of a missing part is unacceptable due to the United States Copyright law.

Overdue Notices:  Notices are sent to the borrower when the item(s) become three days overdue.  The Library accepts no responsibility for mailing delays.

Delinquent Accounts:  Delinquent accounts are placed on the University Delinquents List each semester.  Students on this list are not permitted to register or receive transcripts.  Library appeals may be filed at the Ablah Library Circulation Desk.  A written appeal must be filed within six months of the situation being appealed.  The action of the University Senate Library Appeals Committee is final.


Updated: March 23, 2007
   Contact:
Rachel Crane, Music/Fine Arts Librarian